Skip to content

Myth: Vegans don’t get sick.

April 24, 2013

Ever since I went vegan, I catch fewer colds. It may be totally coincidental or just due to other changes in my life that took place around the time I decided to eat a vegan diet, but it’s still interesting to note. This winter in particular I have been especially lucky, not catching anything: cold, flu or otherwise. In fact, I was pretty impressed with my level of fitness over this particularly long and unfriendly winter here in Ottawa.

Now it’s spring. I’ve caught a cold.

Unfortunately, vegans aren’t immune to catching airborne viruses (though how cool would it be if we were!). So, I’m trying to do all right things: drink lots of liquids, ensure I get my RDI of Vitamin C, resting, staying away from evil depressing thoughts, etc. But all my efforts seem to be in vain because this cold is truly getting the best of me. Colds mess with you physically, that is a no-brainer, but it’s also true that you are emotionally affected when you are sick. I tend to notice that I get more irritable, sad and hopeless when I’m sick. (Perhaps a wee bit dramatic, too.) I blame the virus. Perhaps I’ve watched too much Walking Dead, but it’s almost as if it the virus takes you over and you have no choice but to act and feel like Mr. (or Ms.) Crabbypants.

My goal today is to be patient and keep things in perspective. Compared to the rest of the population, as a vegan I’m among the healthy individuals, I can safely say, so I should celebrate the fact that I only get sick on rare occasions, unlike many others.

But it’s soooo hard. :(

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2013 4:19 pm

    I also rarely get sick, but when I do my non-vegan friends and family like to attribute my sickness to being vegan. So annoying and ridiculous! Anyways that’s not even close to the point of your post…. hope you get well soon :) Rest as much as possible!

    • April 24, 2013 7:42 pm

      I hear that a lot. Thankfully no one has ever tried to accuse my having a cold on being vegan before. But people have preconceived notions and prejudices such that they try to find ways to make themselves feel better about their own unsavoury habits. I figure that when someone tells you you’re sick because you’re vegan, it is really just a cry of insecurity and, perhaps in some cases, envy. And your comment is quite relevant to my post! People need to recognize that everyone can catch the common cold, despite how exemplary one’s eating habits are!

  2. Pearl permalink
    September 3, 2013 2:50 pm

    and then you died? you didn’t did you?

  3. thereason permalink
    January 8, 2014 4:58 am

    Being a vegan or not has absolutely nothing to do with being healthy or not, in my opinion.
    Being healthy can be achieved by an ordered lifestyle combined with good eating, where good eating can include meats. I can tell you this from my experience. I followed a naturalistic diet, which included meats, for 2 years, and never got a cold.

  4. Rasitha permalink
    January 13, 2015 12:59 pm

    well, vegan is only healthy if you watch what you eat tho.

Leave a comment