Skip to content

Here’s to a year of positive change!

January 5, 2013

Happy New Year!Who ever imagined that writing a blog post weekly would be so difficult? I always assumed that inspiration just comes. It just comes. It doesn’t. You kind of have to seek it out — and without it, motivation to write on “just whatever” is all but absent.

As clichéd as new year’s resolutions are, they can prove to be very useful by taking a pitstop in our ever evolving lives and having a self check-in. If we view our yearly resolutions as life’s “to do” list, we are able to effectively analyse our lives by peering inward and determining if we are either on the right track and happy with where we are headed or spiraling out of orbit and unhappy with our current choices. I love this kind of exercise, because it reminds me of my capability to make improvements in my life and that only I can effectuate this kind of change.

One of my resolutions, almost as a recurring event, is to blog more. Preferably once a week. I choose this as an important resolution because I do enjoy writing and I hope that what I write has a positive effect on those who may read it. My personality makes it such that I’m often a “closet” activist (vegan, feminist, environmentalist, etc.), and so blogging provides me with a venue to help me out of my Cancerian shell and promote kindness, conscientiousness and goodness in this world.

I’m interested in hearing what your top resolutions are this year! Many are self-improving, but others are selfless, where we strive to help more, volunteer more and give more. I still have to make my official list, but I know that I’d like to be more active in helping others and myself lead happier and healthier lives.

I think inspiration is all around me, I just have to look for it. Inspiration isn’t perfect, and neither are my blog entries, so as long as I am comfortable with that, I will be much more prolific this year.

Happy 2013 to you all. May this new year bring us all more peace and kindness towards ourselves and others.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

