Skip to content

Are you in control of your life?

July 8, 2012

Free image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.netToday is my birthday. I am 32 years old.

I’d like to think that I have already accomplished great things in my life (notwithstanding my poor performance lately on maintaining my blog–many apologies for those faithful readers). I’m not sure if it’s true, however. At times, just having certain firm beliefs seems enough to convince me that I am doing something significant and good on my short time on this planet, but then I choke on the realization that self-satisfaction generally does not equate to greatness or impact on others. But then again, maybe it does.

Life is weird that way; we really don’t know how our actions or our inactions affect others. I know that a lot of people I have met in my 32 years on this planet have been affected  from just knowing me, to the extent that they have questioned their own morality and assumptions. Some have reduced their consumption of animal products and others have gone so far as to become vegetarian/vegan. This is something to be proud of. Not that I believe that I was the sole reason for these important changes in people’s lives, but I do confidently believe that I have had some influence or persuasion or helping hand to get them there.

For my part, I have been affected positively by countless others. As social beings, humans tend to group and in those groups, we adopt and share each others attitudes, mannerisms, humour, and even beliefs. At 32 years old, I have likely not yet achieved greatness outwardly, but maybe there is some greatness growing inside of me.

Today is a special day, but not because it was the day I was born. It is the day that I decided to write a blog post. This may seem like an ordinary event in the lives of internauts, but it has deep meaning for me.

Every so often, I realize that I’m doing things in my life either out of habit or because slowly and incrementally, I find myself doing them. Whether it is taking lessons I don’t want to take, or meeting with people I don’t want to meet with, or joining clubs, or agreeing to do things, to go places, to do this, to do that… And then I have that moment of clarity when I wake up and see that–wait a minute–I am no longer in control of my life as completely as I would like to be. It is an amazing moment when you reveal this to yourself this and a liberating moment when you actually take action.

If you don’t like something, change it.

If you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.

If you can’t change the way you think about it, stop doing it.

Live by this mantra, and, believe me, you will find your life will lead to contentment in leaps and bounds. It is hard to stop doing things you think you should do because it’s just what you’ve been doing for so long, but try it. You won’t forget how good it feels.

This is my first blog post, aged 32.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. xxxooo permalink
    July 8, 2012 12:13 pm

    l feel the warmth of your sunshine today!! You are definitely food for my soul

  2. July 13, 2012 1:23 am

    Happy birthday! You look great, and there’s no doubt many many years left in you, if you had achieved everything you wanted by 32, what would you do for the next 50+ years of your life???

Leave a Reply

