Skip to content

Do it anyway.

December 4, 2011

Lisa Simpson contemplates her foodI anticipate weekends like I used to anticipate my birthday as a kid. But now, instead of having to wait 364 days for my birthday to come around, I only have to wait 5 days for the thrill of the weekend. Weekends, in their more repetitive nature, tend to disappoint. This weekend was especially unsatisfying. I know it’s just the end of Saturday, so you wonder how I can already make a conclusion on a weekend halfway through, but from experience I know, Sunday very rarely makes a dull weekend exciting. Sunday is like the buzz killer of the weekend high. Indeed, I would go so far as say that I prefer Monday.

I did absolutely nothing today. I always get very self-reproachful when I spend a day completely idle, even if I kind of know that it’s often a therapeutic necessity to vegetate and eschew socializing or the bustling world that awaits you on the other side of your front door. Yet, I still feel miserable if I haven’t accomplished at least one thing. Like a blog post.

I was re-reading my previous post about “just doing it” and I realize how relevant this is to doing things that you truly care about, that you feel is so important that it hurts. Even if it seems like no one else cares or if all your efforts are in vain. It’s the whole “Mother Teresa” philosophy. My mom used to have this message, attributed to Mother Teresa, posted up in her office at work:

People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.

What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.

Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.

It may seem cliched, but I still liked reading it and thought that it could be applied to many of the important things we do and feel like there is no point to it. There is always a point, even if it is extremely indirect or so obscure that we cannot possibly figure out what it is. I still think there has to be a point, because if there wasn’t a point, then why the bloody hell are we even existing in the first place?

Perhaps the world won’t all go vegan in my lifetime. Perhaps rights for animals is a long way away or won’t be possible on the global scale in the next few hundred years. But that’s not my goal anyway. It can’t be, or I’d be a complete failure. My goal is to be true to myself, to ensure that I am acting according to my informed ethics and personal morality, and hope that I can have a positive influence on those around me so that they too may become more informed, more compassionate people who choose to be more aligned with their morals in their daily lives. But I’ll do it anyway, even if that doesn’t happen. I’m still blogging, aren’t I?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 8:05 pm

    I like it!

Leave a Reply

