Skip to content

Do I hate people?

June 23, 2011

It’s probably highly ill-advised to listen to folk music all day. It makes you think too much. You start to go into some melancholic reverie and ultimately feel sad. In between Joan Baez and Lindsay Mac, I’ve been thinking about whether or not there is a trend for animal rights activists to not be human rights activists. It’s not that I feel that animal activism doesn’t align pretty perfectly with human activism, it’s that I wonder if seeing how much humans abuse and torture, neglect and disregard the suffering of, and then ignore the abuse of animals would make one a tad misanthropic to the extent that one dedicates one’s activist energies solely to animals. Again, I stress that I do not suggest that animal activists do not care about people,  I am merely contemplating the hypothesis that there is some divide between the two groups that is more apparent then would be expected from, for example, lack of time to participate actively on more than one rights issue.

Personally, I find myself much more sympathetic to the animal rights cause, in the sense that although I support a diverse variety of non profits in principle, I tend to participate in and donate to those that centre around animals. I wonder if my passion for animals has me eschewing my responsibilities toward my fellow man, especially if my fellow man eats meat. I don’t believe it is conscious — because if it were, I could more easily admit it — however, I may be unknowingly being selective to the detriment of other equally just causes. Of course, I’m referring to my individualistic impact on the world, thus it is significant a priori. I don’t want to become a hateful person, but is that what is most naturally occuring?

I say sometimes that I hate people. You see all that goes on in this world and all that people do and it makes you hate them. The destruction of the environment, the torture of animals, the genocide and mass killings, the rape and pillaging, the bombs, the passing the buck or avoidance of taking responsibility for one’s actions… But I couldn’t possibly hate people. I surround myself with people all the time. Maybe I just hate what we are capable of. I don’t know why I keep saying that I hate people. Funny though, while folk music makes me feel forlorn, it also makes me hate people less.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 10:06 pm

    Nothing to do with your post but happy birthday Joe. Hope you have a great day. Welcome to O-town!

Leave a Reply

