Skip to content

Pasta ai funghi

April 2, 2011

That’s fancy-speak for “pasta with (creamy) mushroom sauce”. However you may try to impress your friends, this dish will do it cross-linguistically. I stumbled across it online and was well impressed that it didn’t call for even a wee bit of soy, yet it comes out creamier than ever. It also uses green tea leaves in the recipe. I think that’s rad.

Mushrooms are gifts from the gods. I always was fascinated by them and feared them at the same time. They are a kingdom of their own and the least understood to boot. It’s frightening how you can get them to taste like meat and in this case, like cream. I never liked mushrooms when I was a kid. I hated them even more when a friend of mine in university told me that the part of the mushroom one eats is the sexual organ of the mushroom. He didn’t need to say that. But now I love them. I think mushrooms are an acquired taste for fancy people. Some kids just learn how to be fancy early. Not me. It took me a while to truly appreciate these bizarre and mysterious products of nature. And yes, some do grow in horse poop.

It’s time to share. I hope you enjoy.

Pasta ai funghi (Modified and sexier version of “Creamy Mushroom Pasta“) (vegan)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil.
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced.
  • 8-10 ounces mushrooms, any type (I used white button mushrooms and they were perfect!)
  • 1/4 cup finely ground or finely chopped nuts of any kind (I used walnuts)
  • 1.5 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon dried, ground rosemary or basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried, ground thyme.
  • 1 tablespoon dry loose leaf green tea (preferably a nuttier variety)
  • Fresh ground black pepper, to taste.
  • Any kind of whole grain pasta (original recipe says 12 oz. dry weight… I say use a whole box) I think mushroom cream sauce tastes best with bowtie pasta (farfalle)

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil while preparing the ingredients.
  2. Clean and slice the mushrooms.
  3. In a deep skillet or stove-top pan, heat the olive oil and garlic over medium heat until the garlic just begins to turn golden.
  4. Add the vegetable broth mixture, dried tea, and mushrooms and return the mixture to a simmer (low boil).
  5. Add the herbs, nuts, black pepper, and stir at a low boil for approximately 5-7 minutes, until mushrooms have cooked down in size.
  6. Very carefully remove approximately 1 cup of mushrooms mixture and place in a blender and blend without burning yourself (e.g., let steam release while blending). Add more broth as needed to make a thick creamy liquid.
  7. Return the blended portion to the pan and stir to combine with the other mushroom mixture. Reduce heat until pasta is ready.

Note: You can add optional fried or steamed veggies or other stuff like tofu or tvp if you feel like it. However, I think it’s pretty great the way it is. In the photo below, I used elbow pasta and I added yellow sweet pepper. (I think celery would have been nice too.) I just threw it in when I added the mushrooms.

Enjoy!

Creamy mushroom pasta

Creamy mushroom sauce with elbow pasta

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    April 2, 2011 8:11 pm

    Oh no! Not mushroom! ;-)

Leave a Reply

