Skip to content

Inside Out Film Festival, in Ottawa no less

December 6, 2010
Inside Out Film and Video Festival

I’m apparently not a vampire after all. Although I haven’t seen the sun in quite some time here in Ottawa (getting up before sunrise to work out, working in windowless office, then returning home after sunset to make dinner and return to my coffin), I managed to not wither away in agony this weekend when I ventured outside into the sunshine and cold to attend the NCVA’s meet-up at Green Earth Vegetarian Cuisine–which, mind you, was excellent (read: great company and great food).

It was also the weekend of the 4th annual Inside Out LGBT Film and Video Festival. Apparently it’s been running for over 20 years in Toronto, and for the 11 or so years I was living there, I never went once. Pathetic? or…. anti-socially vampiric? Anyway, I am trying on a new hat here in Ottawa. I have no choice really. I can’t blog about Ottawa if the extent of my Ottawa is the confines of my apartment.

I managed to see two films: “Edie and Thea: A Very Long Engagement” and “Eyes Wide Open”. The first was a film about two New Yorker women who truly defined the meaning of “soulmates” and the second was a film about taboo homosexual desire in an Orthodox Jewish community in Jerusalem. I’m happy I went out. It was nice to meet new people at the veg meet-up and the film festival and to realise that indeed, there are veritable vegetarian/vegan and gay communities out there in Ottawa. I just have to get my feet a bit wet is all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elah permalink
    December 6, 2010 9:53 pm

    Nu, what did you think of the movies?

    • December 8, 2010 8:59 pm

      Right. So I conspicuously left out a review or even any impression of what I thought of the movies. My reasoning was (1) I don’t have much to say one way or the other and (2) I’m feeling kinda lazy. To be honest, I didn’t want this post to be about the movies.

Leave a Reply

