Skip to content

Can vegans weight train?

November 21, 2010
Brendan Brazier, in action

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been told before that a gym is no place for a vegan. Not sure of the logic behind this. Vegans tend to be extremely health conscious and thus exercise more than your average American couch potato. But maybe we’re supposed to exercise in secret. I’ll admit, I’m not your beefiest gym bunny (not a single pun intended, but really, hilarious init?). I am quite slim and potentially perpetuate the vegan stereotype, but I’ve always been slender, even before frequenting the gym or cutting out bad food from my diet. Indeed, when I went vegetarian as a teen, I actually gained weight! And since working out regularly, I have also gained muscle matter and hence, I look bigger (even if I’ve slimmed down fat-wise). Point being this: I’m not unhealthily slim because of an incomplete diet. Rather, I’m healthily slim because of a superior diet. When I go to the gym, I’m not going there with the intention of losing weight; I’m going to maintain an overall cardiovascular and muscular fitness. I’d like to stay firm, flexible, and strong. It also has an incredibly positive affect on my energy level, stress level, and emotional stability. I get why people eschew working out, but what I don’t get is how they let themselves get away with it for so long. Why doesn’t the guilt eventually set in like it does for me?

I guess this has become a ramble and I hate rambles, so I apologize. I’ll end this just by saying that there are such things as buff bodybuilding vegans, even if I am definitely not one of them. Check out these links:

I’ll leave you with a photo of a delicious salad I made recently. I’ve been making and experimenting with salads more frequently lately and it seemed appropriate now that I should share one with you. I expect this is the kind of stuff veg marathon runners eat. (I’m obviously well on my way.)

delicious salad

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    November 21, 2010 12:51 pm

    I understand where you are coming from. I am constantly being that I’m too skinny. However, what frustrates me is that the people who are making these comments are not in the best of shape. As a runner, I am able to out run many of them; my core is extremely strong and I am flexible from doing yoga 3x a week. I think it goes back to one of your earlier post where you mentioned that North Americans are obsessed with animal protein!

  2. #1 Fan permalink
    November 21, 2010 7:02 pm

    You are one buff, sexy vegan.

Leave a Reply

